Sewing Pattern Challenge 2014

Over the past fifteen years or so, I’ve bought dozens of patterns. Here they are, piled on my work table, and the hard fact is, half are untouched. Never been cut, never made it to outfits. A stash of unfinished business I vow to tend to in 2014.

32 fine patterns, 50% unmade

32 fine patterns, 50% unmade

Sew Two Different Versions 

Of the patterns I have sewn, most have only been made into a single garment. A select few were made more than that, but I imagine now the untapped potential of each retired pattern.

Finding time to finish an outfit is the biggest hurdle for me. So, I’m taking some steps to improve efficiency. When I start a new pattern, I’ll make bristol card templates of the tissue patterns. Tracing these with pen or chalk will save pinning time and I can skip the re-folding hassle. If I can make a couple of items at the same time, I’ll be further ahead, faster…We’ll see how this goes.

Many of my pals have enormous wardrobes. Frankly, I am awestruck at the abundance in their closets. My own fits easily on a two-foot rack, in a few drawers, and in a suitcase under my bed. A healthy portion are “me-mades”, but I have room for more.

Shirt front, back and yoke templates in cardboard should save me pinning time and spare me the hassle of refolding tissue patterns.

Shirt front, back and yoke templates in cardboard should save me pinning time and spare me the hassle of refolding tissue patterns.

Branching out into the unfamiliar

The other thing I want to do in 2014 is push my sewing comfort zone. I have favourite things I like to make, but it’s time to venture into new territory and tackle things I normally don’t. Reading sewing blogs has totally inspired me. So in 2014, I hope to explore the appeal of quilting, home decor, and maybe even take stab at carpet-making and embroidery.

So there it is. I’m not the only sewing blogist with new year’s resolutions. Better sewers than I have gone on record to dig into great stockpiles of fabric, or stretch their skill levels. As an excited sewista, I probably plan more projects than are reasonable. But my track record is to finish half, so I better dream BIG!…. 🙂

P.S. This totally does NOT mean I won’t buy any new patterns in 2014! 

 

 

 

One thought on “Sewing Pattern Challenge 2014

Leave a Reply

