Good Haul from Textile Museum’s Spring Yardage Sale

The Textile Museum of Canada is just a short stroll away from the busy Yonge/Dundas intersection in downtown Toronto. Last weekend, the museum hosted a well-attended Spring Sale of fabric that had eager crafters and sewers digging deep for treasures.

The goodies on offer were piled on tables and racks at the building entrance as well as filling two large party tents in the parking area alongside. Volunteers were on hand with lots of good info and suggestions.textile sale tents

I was directed to some tremendous opportunities, such as nearly-finished  hand-made wool sweaters in donated kit packs; upholstery samplers; fabrics perfect for purses; fashion and home decor remnants; rug hooking packs; knitting needles and more. Upstairs, the museum welcomes visitors to view an excellent collection of textiles from all over the planet: clothing, carry bags, rugs, etc., and explains the history and origins. Two gloriously embroidered kimonos (not for sale) were hanging in the gift shop where some of the finer and more delicate  yard sale items were kept.

I was delighted with my haul. $10 got me cloth I’ll likely use for pillows and handbags, I was only able to turn up for the last hour of the sale, but I imagine the earlybirds ran away with bigger bags than mine. The museum sometimes has a similar sale in the fall. www.textilemuseum.ca

Here is what $10 bought me at the Textile Museum spring sidewalk sale. I love the fish print and the fact that the upholstery sample edges are all so neatly serged. Plus one of the purse kit packs had nifty D rings all ready for me!

Here is what $10 bought me at the Textile Museum spring sidewalk sale. I love the fish print and the fact that the upholstery sample edges are all so neatly serged. Plus one of the purse kit packs had nifty D rings all ready for me!

One thought on “Good Haul from Textile Museum’s Spring Yardage Sale

  1. Tia Dia

    I am so sorry I missed this. I so wanted to go! I’ll be keeping an eye out for their fall sale, should they have one. And your haul looks delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

