February Rose in matte & satin

I wasn’t quite satisfied with this rust and black dress when I finished it. It seemed flat. It needed more interest so I added a fabric rose here at the shoulder. Luckily, the mock-suede I used for the sides, had a super satin sheen back, and the contrasting textures give delightful depth to a black rose. Alternately, the rose could be worn in the hair, clipped to a purse or on a ribbon at the wrist. I’ve been reading some sewing magazines, the latest Vogue Sewing for instance, that encourages us amateur home sewers to trust our skills and dare to add more artistic design to what we make and embrace any happy mistakes as part of the learning curve. I’m in!satin matte black rose

Leave a Reply

